Andrew Alan Zabel

July 4th turned into an incredibly productive 4 day weekend for us, but before typing about it we have to recognize my brother, Andrew Alan Zabel. Without him I never would have considered architecture as a career.

AAZ_01   AAZ_02   AAZ_03

Andy (to those growing up, and Drew to those who met him in college) was my older brother by 2 years, the trail blazer for me and my twin sister. Anything that was easy for me was because he already figured it out. The three Zabel kids were a tight group.

Andy was a Lego mastermind, a pyrotechnic maniac, and brilliantly creative. His grin was goofy and disarming, his long hair defiant, and his posture confident.  He was thoughtful, generous, and charismatic. He turned dull tedium into fun adventures.

AAZ_04   AAZ_05   AAZ_06

He wanted to be an architect by the time he was 10. In high school, I visited his architecture studio at Ball State University and was hooked by the buzz and tangible creativity. Of course, I followed. We planned to eventually open our own firm.

Some time after college Andy went to the doctor with searing leg pains and was diagnosed with Ewing’s Sarcoma. He was 25. A few months later he married and spent the honeymoon at the hospital for his first chemo treatment.

AAZ_07   AAZ_08   AAZ_09

We were fortunate to have him for two more years. He was just beginning to fulfill his potential. He was great and capable, then decimated by a freak biological anomaly. He was 27 and passed away on the morning of July 4th with his wife, a close friend of theirs, my sister, Melissa, and me at his side. That was ten years ago. It’s been a whole decade with only memories to fill the space where he was, like mists in place of a mountain.

Grief is the open sore of devastation over the things that will never happen in the void that remains: I can never look to my big brother for advice or approval again. We will never reminisce, share wonder over something, debate public policy, go plinking, or hang out for its own sake. We will never run a firm together. My son will only know his Uncle Andy in stories. I miss him.

But his legacy remains. And a tiny piece of that legacy is that we’re building this house.

AAZ_10

4 thoughts on “Andrew Alan Zabel

  1. You are a fantastic wordsmith. I love the way you have expressed these things. Thank you for becoming YOU, Steve. I love you! stevenczabel posted: “July 4th turned into an incredibly productive 4 day weekend for us, but before typing about it we have to recognize my brother, Andrew Alan Zabel. Without him I never would have considered architecture as a career. Andy (to those growing up, “

  2. Steve,
    I will always remember Andy and Doug at t-ball practice when they were 5 yrs old. Within 10 minutes of practice starting, Andy would have his back to the field drawing in the dirt. He was destined for architecture. Andy’s name will always bring a smile to my face. Well, any name with Zabel in it makes me smile. Hope to see you again soon and your adorable son and wife.

  3. Oh my. I had no idea that Drew passed. I was in architecture school with him. He was great. I can still picture his smile. He was a friendly and delightful person. The world was better with him in it. I am sad. I am happy to have known him.

Leave a Reply

